We create new possibilities for life
  • Gleneagles Singapore

肝移植术后恢复

  • 肝移植术后恢复

    接受完肝移植手术后,患者必须好好保养自己的新器官,具体做法包括适当改变生活方式、定期运动、养成健康的饮食习惯、服用相关药物以及定期进行后续会诊等等。

    在患者出院以前,鹰阁医院的移植协调人员、营养师和医疗辅助团队会为患者及其照顾者提供术后保养方面的培训和指导。

    门诊检查

    出院之后的前 2 个月内,患者每周至少应该接受两次检查。专科医生需要通过这些检查来监控患者的病情和康复情况。器官移植后的前 60 天是最有可能出现器官排斥反应的一段时期,因此专科医生非常有必要对患者进行定期检查。前 2 个月过去之后,患者来院接受检查的频率可以根据医生的诊断做出适当的调整。

    抗排斥反应的药物

    肝移植手术的接受者必须终生服用抗排斥反应的相关药物。这类药物也被称为免疫抑制剂,可以防止患者身体对新植入的肝脏产生排斥反应。一个强健的免疫系统可能会把新植入的肝脏识别出来,然后对这个“外来器官”的细胞发起攻击。抗排斥药物将让您免疫系统的功能暂时减弱,防止它对新器官发起攻击。不过,这也会因此增加受感染的风险。

    抗排斥药物必须根据医生指示在每天的固定时间服用,这一点非常重要。如果您有哪一次漏掉了,就必须通知移植协调人员,他们会告诉您下一次服药的时间。您不可以为了补上漏掉的那一次而自行服用更多地抗排斥药物。

    对于正在服用抗排斥药物的患者而言,应避开某些食物,如柚子和葡萄柚,因为它们可能会影响免疫抑制剂的效果。同理,这类患者也不得在没有告知移植协调人员或医生的情况下擅自服用包括传统药物或非处方药在内的新药,因为这样可能会影响到抗排斥药物的吸收。如果您要接受牙科或其他医疗手术的话,您也需要提前告知您的牙科医生、内科或外科医生您正在服用抗排斥药物。

    排斥反应和感染的识别

    虽然抗排斥药物会帮助患者避免出现器官排斥反应,但某些时候还是会出现类似反应。不过如果发现较早、治疗及时的话,这类情况还是可以得到恢复的。

    排斥反应的症状:

    • 发烧
    • 尿色如茶、发暗
    • 眼睛发黄
    • 黄疸病(皮肤和眼睛发黄)
    • 粪便颜色较浅,呈泥土色
    • 发冷、疼痛、容易疲倦

    除了器官排斥反应的风险以外,肝移植患者还需要特别当心感染问题,尤其是在抗排斥药物降低了自身免疫力的情况下。患者需要特别注意个人卫生,同时采取一些防范措施来降低受到感染的风险。患者应当远离人群密集的场所,尤其是在寒冷或者流感季节。经常洗手以及避免接种新型疫苗的对策也有助于预防感染。出院之后的前一个月内,患者每天都应当测两次体温;只要发现以下任何一种情况,就应该马上联系移植协调人员:

    • 发烧
    • 舌头上或口腔内发红或者出现白斑
    • 裸露的伤口出现发红、肿胀的现象或者流出恶臭难闻的分泌物
    • 持续性的咳嗽,呼吸并未变得急促。
    • 类似感冒的症状
    • 排尿时疼痛或者有灼热感
    • 腹泻

    肝移植手术后的营养补充

    在您出院以前,营养师会为您提一些健康均衡饮食方面的相关建议,帮您尽快恢复身体、预防感染。您的医生可能会根据您的病情专门为您制定一套饮食方案。对于肝移植患者而言,保持一个健康的体重水平非常重要。体重增加和肥胖症会对您的新肝脏造成损害同时增加您患上高血压和心脏病等慢性疾病的风险。

    服用抗排斥药物之后,您的免疫力会有所减弱,所以请格外注意食品安全和卫生,避免因食源性疾病而受到感染。营养师和护士会告诉您应当如何拿取食物以及哪些食物是需要特别当心的。

    注意事项:

    • 处理食物之前和之后都要洗手
    • 避免吃生鲜或半生不熟的食物,尤其是肉类、贝类和蛋类
    • 所有水果和蔬菜在烹饪和享用之前都要清洗干净
    • 避免吃沙拉吧、自助餐或其他公共餐具(比如火锅)上的食物,以避免因他人或者不安全的烹饪温度而造成的污染
    • 拒绝食用未消毒的牛奶和奶酪
    • 降低盐分和糖分的摄入量
    • 尽量每天都喝 2 升左右的白开水
    • 拒绝食用烹煮环境不太卫生的食物

    接受移植手术后的各项活动

    运动 – 建议患者坚持锻炼身体,这样有助于保持您的体重和健康水平。不过,您在移植后的最多六周时间内应避免驾驶汽车,术后至少两个月内不要参加任何会让腹部用力的运动,比如举重和仰卧起坐。

    日光照射 – 移植患者可能会因日光照射而患上皮肤癌。如果需要长时间外出的话,记得涂抹防晒系数不低于 30 的防晒霜,同时穿上长袖衬衫、戴上帽子。您还应当经常检查自己的皮肤,看看有没有出现异常生长的组织或斑块。

    旅行 – 除了回国以外,您手术后的前六个月尽量不要旅行。您的移植协调人员也会告诉您应避开哪些地区,因为有的国家可能会增加肝移植患者的感染风险。

    计划生育 – 患者在移植手术的数月之后即可恢复正常的性生活,但是女性患者在术后的至少一年内都要尽量避免怀孕。由于抗排斥药物的关系,在您给孩子喂奶之前也需要事先咨询一下您的医生。

    酒精 – 肝移植患者应尽量避免饮酒。酒精必须通过肝脏来完成新陈代谢,因此会对刚植入的肝脏造成损害。

    宠物 – 您仍然可以在家里饲养宠物,但是您要尽量远离宠物的粪便和尿液,特别是鸟粪。动物粪便中有各种微生物,它们会对免疫力低下的患者造成严重的感染。

    年度检查 – 由于肝移植患者的免疫系统比较薄弱,所以除了新肝脏可能出现的并发症以外,其他疾病给他们带来的威胁更是厉害。因此,肝移植患者每年都应该进行一次彻底的健康检查,以便医生更好地掌握您的健康情况。

    更多有关肝移植术后恢复的内容请查阅亚洲美国肝脏中心编撰的《肝移植术后恢复手册》

    询问详情或预约医生

We create new possibilities for life

Whatsapp Appointment

+65 9030 1021

Liver Transplant Recovery

  • Liver Transplant Recovery

    After a liver transplant, it is important for transplant patients to care for their new organ, which includes possible lifestyle changes, regular exercise, healthy diet, taking medications and going for follow-up medical appointments regularly.

    The transplant coordinators, dieticians and allied healthcare team at Gleneagles Hospital will educate and guide patients and their caregivers on post-transplant care prior to their discharge from the hospital.

    Outpatient check-ups

    Patients are required to attend check-ups at least twice a week for the first 2 months after they are discharged. This will allow the specialist(s) to check on the patient’s condition and monitor the recovery process. Organ transplants have the highest risk of organ rejection within the first 60 days after the transplant, so it is very important that the specialist checks on the patient regularly. After the first 2 months, the frequency of visits are adjusted based on the doctor’s diagnosis. 

    Anti-rejection medicine

    Liver transplant recipients must take anti-rejection medications for the rest of their lives. These medications are also known as immunosuppressants, and they help prevent the patient’s body from rejecting the new liver. A strong immune system may recognise the new liver as ‘foreign’ and attack its cells. Anti-rejection medications can lower your immune system and prevent it from attacking the new organ, but they can also increase the risk of getting infections.

    It is important that anti-rejection medications are taken as prescribed at the same time every day. If you miss a dose, you must inform the transplant coordinator who will advise on when to take the next dose. You should not take additional anti-rejection medications to make up for missed doses.

    Patients on anti-rejection medications should not consume certain foods, such as pomelo and grapefruit, as these can affect the effectiveness of the immunosuppressant. Similarly, do not take new medications, including traditional or over-the-counter medication, without informing the transplant coordinator or doctor as it can affect the absorption of your anti-rejection medication. You should also inform your dentist, doctor or surgeon that you are taking anti-rejection medications before undergoing any dental or medical procedure. 

    Recognising rejection and infection

    While anti-rejection medication help to prevent organ rejection, this can still happen in some cases. This condition can, however, still be reversed if the signs are detected and treated early. 

    Signs of rejection:

    • Fever
    • Dark, tea-coloured urine
    • Yellow eyes
    • Jaundice (yellowish skin and eyes)
    • Pale or clay coloured stools
    • Chills, aches and unexpected tiredness

    Other than the risk of organ rejection, liver transplant patients also need to be vigilant about infection, especially since the anti-rejection medication that they take will reduce the body’s ability to fight infection. Patients need to practise good personal hygiene and take precautions to reduce the risk of getting an infection. Patients should avoid crowded places, for example, especially during the cold or flu season. Washing hands frequently and avoiding new vaccines can also help prevent infections. After their discharge, patients should check their temperature twice a day for the first month, and contact their transplant coordinator if any of the below signs occur:

    • Fever
    • Redness or white spots on the tongue or in the mouth
    • Redness, swelling or foul smelling discharge on open wounds
    • Persistent cough without shortage of breath.
    • Flu-like symptoms
    • Painful or burning sensation during urinating
    • Diarrhoea

    Nutrition after liver transplant

    Before you are discharged, a dietician will advise you on maintaining a healthy, balanced diet that will help your body heal and prevent infection. Depending on your medical condition, your doctor may place you on a special diet. It is important for liver transplant patients to maintain a healthy weight. Weight gain and obesity can damage your new liver and increase your risk for chronic diseases such as high blood pressure and heart disease. 

    With a weakened immune system caused by anti-rejection medication, it is important to practice safe food handling to prevent infection from food-borne diseases. The dietician and nurses will advise you on how to handle food safely and what foods to be mindful of. 

    Be careful to:

    • Wash your hands before and after handling food
    • Avoid raw or partially cooked food, especially meat, shellfish, seafood and eggs
    • Wash all fruits and vegetables before cooking and eating them
    • Avoid eating from salad bars, buffets or other shared dishes such as steamboat due to possible contamination by others and unsafe food temperatures
    • Avoid unpasteurised milk and cheese
    • Lower your salt and sugar intake
    • Try to drink about 2 litres of boiled water daily
    • Avoid foods that may be prepared in unhygienic environments

    Regular activities after transplant

    Exercise – It is recommended to resume exercise in order to maintain your weight and physical health. However, you should avoid driving for up to six weeks after your transplant, and avoid activities that strain your abdomen for at least two months after your surgery, including heavy lifting and sit-ups.

    Sun exposure – Transplant patients have a chance of developing skin cancer when exposed to the sun. Use sunblock with at least SPF 30, wear long-sleeved shirts and a hat if you expect to be outdoors for a long time. You should also examine your skin regularly for abnormal growths or patches.

    Travel – Unless you are returning to your own country, you should avoid travelling within the first six months after your liver transplant. Your transplant coordinator will also advise you on which areas to avoid, as some countries may increase the risk of infection for liver transplant patients.

    Family planning – While you are able to resume sexual activity within a few months after the transplant, female transplant patients should wait at least one year after their transplant before conceiving. You should also consult your doctor before breastfeeding due to your anti-rejection medication.

    Alcohol – Liver transplant patients should avoid alcohol whenever possible. Alcohol is metabolised by the liver and will cause harm to the new liver.

    Pets – While pets can continue to be a part of your family life, you should avoid contact with pet faeces and urine, especially bird droppings. Animal faeces can contain microorganisms that can cause serious infection to patients with weakened immunity.

    Annual screening – Besides complications to the new liver, liver transplant patients are also more vulnerable to other medical conditions due to their weakened immune system. As such, liver transplant patients should undergo a detailed health screening annually so that your physician can supervise and manage your health appropriately. 

    For more information on recovery after a liver transplant, the Asian American Liver Centre has an extensive guidebook on liver transplant recovery.

    Make an Enquiry or AppointmentFind a Doctor