We create new possibilities for life
  • Gleneagles Singapore

肝病治疗

  • 肝病治疗

    预防性措施(包括药物治疗)是延缓或阻止肝病恶化的第一步。然而,如果此类措施已不再奏效,肝病患者就必须采取相应的介入疗法,比如:

  • 肝切除手术

    什么是肝切除手术?

    肝切除手术适合于肝内肿瘤较小、肝脏尚未受到严重损害的患者。此手术可切除 3 厘米大或者更小的肿瘤。医生会在手术过程中使用腹腔镜等微创技术。不过,由于肝切除手术对具体病情有非常特殊的要求,所以这种手术并不常见。首先,恶性肿瘤一定不能侵入肝脏的内部血管。其次,剩余的肝脏必须足够健康,以确保肝脏能够正常工作。如果剩余的肝脏也受到了损害(例如存在肝硬化的情况),那么即便实施了手术,术后仍有可能出现肝衰竭

    什么情况下会采用肝切除手术?

    肝切除手术多用于转移性癌症患者,即癌症最初出现在其他器官,之后转移到肝脏的情况。术后可能还需进行化疗或者放射性治疗,以确保癌细胞不会在肝内再生。

    肝切除手术的成功率如何?

    由于肝切除手术存在诸多局限性,该手术的五年存活率在 40% 左右。也就是说,每 10 名患者中只有四人或者不到四人在进行肝切除手术后可以存活五年以上。对于等待接受肝移植手术的患者而言,肝切除手术通常被用作一种防止癌细胞扩散的过渡手术。

  • 射频消融术

    什么是射频消融术?

    与肝切除手术类似,射频消融术(RFA)是治疗肝癌患者肝内小块肿瘤的另一种手术。医生会用一种特殊的针状电极从肿瘤所处的部位插入患者体内。高频波会将电极加热,进而借助高温将肿瘤细胞消灭。

    与肝切除手术不同的是,由于 RFA 疗法的高温会使血管闭合,所以肝内出血较少。该疗法可以使用腹腔镜或经皮穿刺等微创技术,让电极针经皮肤插入腹中。对于等待接受肝移植手术的肝癌患者而言,RFA 常常被用作一种过渡手术,这是因为它有助于防止癌细胞在过渡期内扩散他处。

  • 肝透析

    什么是肝透析?

    正如肾衰竭患者采用透析法治疗肾病那样,肝衰竭患者也用肝透析的方法来治疗肝病。医生会用一种特殊机器来充当临时性的外部过滤设备,暂时代替人体肝脏。它可以滤除包括胆红素、脂肪酸和胆汁酸在内的诸多物质,这在正常情况下都是由健康的肝脏来完成的。

    对于那些等待接受肝移植手术的患者而言,肝透析是一项临时过渡方案,与射频消融术一样被视为一种过渡手术。肾衰竭患者往往可以多年依靠透析法来维持病情,但肝透析不同,它无法长时间持续进行,通常只能使用数天或数周之久。

    鹰阁医院的百汇亚洲移植病房可以实施肝透析。在实施肝移植手术之前,我们的肝胆胰专家会对患者病情进行评估。

  • 肝移植手术

    什么是肝移植手术?

    如果患者存在肝衰竭的问题或者肝脏因纤维化或晚期癌症受到了严重损伤,医生通常会建议实施肝移植手术。根据美国肝脏基金会的统计,在植入新肝脏之后,约有 75% 的患者至少可以存活 5 年时间。而且儿童会有更好的疗效,他们中有 82% 在手术后都可存活 10 年以上。

    什么是活体肝移植手术?

    活体肝移植手术(LDLT)是由活体供者将自己健康肝脏的一部分捐献给接受者进行肝脏移植的一种手术。肝脏是一个非同寻常的器官,切除之后仅需 4-6 周的时间即可通过自我再生完全恢复到原有的正常功能,前提是所切除的部分不得超过原先总重量的 70%。

    活体肝移植手术|肝、胰腺、胆囊和胆管

    您在接受肝移植手术之后应当如何恢复身体?

    移植手术成功之后,接受者需要服用抗排斥反应的相关药物,这些药物可以抑制免疫系统的功能,以免身体自然的免疫系统排斥新植入的器官。查看有关肝移植手术康复过程的更多信息。

    我应该去哪里接受肝移植手术?

    鹰阁医院的肝移植手术由陈凯泽医生和亚洲美安肝脏中心共同负责。 1996 年,陈凯泽医生在新加坡实施了第一次活体肝移植手术,是本地区肝移植领域的知名专家。他和他的团队已经实施了大约 200 项肝移植手术。

    有一点需要患者注意:新加坡境内所有医院的活体肝移植手术都必须按照《人体器官移植法令》的要求事先得到移植伦理委员会的批准,以此保障患者免受人体器官买卖的侵害。

    鹰阁医院也是百汇亚洲移植病房的所在地,该病房是专门针对移植患者建造的,其中的护士团队全都接受过肝移植患者护理方面的专业培训,一定能够帮助患者早日恢复健康。查看有关鹰阁医院移植病房及其护士团队的更多信息

  • 什么是活体肝移植?

    活体肝移植的优点

    由于肝病患者的病情容易急速恶化,而等待尸体供肝的时间往往太长,所以患者通常没机会接受尸体肝脏移植手术。如果不采取活体肝脏移植手术的话,这类患者很可能在接受移植前即已出现致命的并发症。

    除了可以增加供肝肝源以外,活体肝移植优于尸体肝移植的另一项好处在于医生能够对手术时间进行合理安排。如此一来,肝脏功能严重受损的肝病患者就可以被优先安排接受移植手术。此外,因为是取自健康捐赠者的身体,所以移植肝不但质量更好,而且大大缩短了冷却缺血时间(捐赠者的肝脏没有血液供应的时间)。活体肝脏移植最大的缺点在于患者可能出现并发症,甚至还会危及健康捐赠者的生命。实施活体肝移植还有一些限制条件,最重要的一条就是找到合适的捐赠者,此人的血型应与接受者相同,身体状况也必须能够应付此项手术。捐赠者可以是近亲、远亲或者好朋友。

    亚洲美安肝脏中心(Asian American Liver Centre)的活体肝移植手术

    在亚洲美安肝脏中心,成人和儿童的活体肝移植手术都是由经验丰富的专科医生团队完成的。如果患者找到了符合条件的捐赠者,医生就会对二人进行极为严格的调查,以此确保捐赠者的健康和接受者的最佳疗效。

    从 2002 年的第一例活体肝移植手术(LDLT)算起,亚洲美安肝脏中心目前已经成功实施了 200 多例活体肝移植手术 - 成为亚洲首个取得这一成果的私人医疗中心。今天,它是东南亚地区最大的私人肝脏中心之一,并且通过与匹兹堡大学医学中心的合作直接参与了在全球范围内备受认可的移植计划。

    自从上世纪九十年代起,活体肝移植手术即被视作肝细胞癌症(HCC)的根治性疗法。我中心扩宽了针对肝细胞癌实施活体肝移植手术的标准,因为我们有大量超出*米兰标准(小块或少数肿瘤)要求的患者在接受活体肝移植手术之后都有较长的存活期。

    * 米兰标准 – 单个肿瘤直径不超过 5 厘米或者肿瘤个数不超过 3 个,最大直径不超过 3 厘米(NEJM 1996; 334)

    结果

    2002至2014年间,总共实施 218 例活体肝移植手术,其中 86 例是肝细胞癌患者。我们对符合米兰标准与超出米兰标准的肝细胞癌患者在接受移植手术后的存活率进行了比较。

    全体肝细胞癌患者的一年、三年和五年存活率分别为 86%、72% 和 64%。符合米兰标准的患者的存活率分别为 89%、82% 和 82%。

    亚洲美安肝脏中心的活体肝移植手术之所以能够如此成功少不了百汇亚洲移植病房(PATU)的作用 – 这是特为移植手术准备的专用病房,配有重症监护(ICU)设施以及包括肝脏透析机和监控装置在内的一流的医疗设备。这样即可保证每名患者都能根据自己的具体病情接受最为优质的医疗服务。

    肝移植存活率|肝、胰腺、胆囊和胆管

We create new possibilities for life

WhatsApp Appointment

+65 9030 1021

Liver Treatment

  • Liver Treatment

    Preventative measures, including medications, to delay or stop the progression of liver diseases will be explored as the first step. However, when such measures are no longer viable or feasible, patients with liver diseases may have to seek invasive treatments such as the following:

  • Liver Resection

    What is Liver Resection?

    Liver resection is a procedure for patients who have small tumours in their liver which have not yet caused severe liver damage. The procedure involves the surgical removal of tumours that are around 3cm or smaller. It can be done with minimally invasive techniques using a laparoscope. However, this procedure is rare as the conditions for a liver resection are very specific. For one, the cancer must not have invaded the internal blood vessels of the liver. Secondly, the remaining portion of the liver must be sufficiently healthy so that function can be maintained. If the remaining portion of the liver is damaged, for example due to cirrhosis, then liver failure may still occur despite the operation

    When is a Liver Resection Done?

    A liver resection is more commonly performed when the patient is suffering from metastasised cancer, that is, cancer that originated from another organ and has spread to the liver. Chemotherapy or radiation therapy may be used after the operation to ensure that cancer cells do not regenerate in the liver. 

    What is the Success Rate for Liver Resection?

    Due to the many limitations of a liver resection, the 5-year survival rate of a liver resection is around 40%. This means that only 4 or fewer patients out of every 10 who undergo a liver resection survive for at least 5 years. Liver resection is often performed as a bridging procedure to keep the cancer from spreading while the patient waits for a liver transplant.

  • Radiofrequency Ablation

    What is Radiofrequency Ablation?

    Similar to liver resection, radiofrequency ablation (RFA) is another procedure used to treat small tumours in a patient with liver cancer. A special needle electrode is inserted into the body at the site of the tumour. Radiofrequency waves are used to heat up the electrode, which in turn burns up the tumour cells. 

    Unlike liver resection, RFA causes lesser bleeding in the liver as the high heat also closes up blood vessels. It can be done using minimally invasive techniques, either through laparoscopes or percutaneously, where the needle is inserted through the skin into the abdomen. RFA is often used as a bridging procedure for liver cancer patients awaiting liver transplant, as it can help to keep the cancer from spreading in the interim period.

  • Liver Dialysis

    What is Liver Dialysis?

    Just like how dialysis is used as treatment for patients with kidney failure, liver dialysis is used as treatment for patients with liver failure. A special machine is used to act as a temporary external filtration device that replaces the liver. It removes substances such as bilirubin, fatty acids and bile acids that are normally discharged from a healthy liver. 

    Just like how radiofrequency ablation is used as a bridging procedure for liver cancer patients, liver dialysis is used as a bridging procedure for patients awaiting liver transplant. Unlike kidney failure patients who can rely on dialysis over many years, liver dialysis is not sustainable for long periods of time, and is often only used for a matter of days or weeks.

    Liver dialysis is available at the Parkway Asian Transplant Unit at Gleneagles Hospital. Our HPB specialists will assess patients who may require this prior to their liver transplantation.

  • Liver Transplant

    What is Liver Transplant?

    In cases where there is liver failure, or substantial damage to the liver due to fibrosis or end-stage cancer, a liver transplant is usually the recommended procedure. According to the American Liver Foundation, about 75% of patients who receive a new liver will live at least 5 years after surgery. The result is even better for children, with 82% of them living at least 10 years after surgery. 

    What is a Living Donor Liver Transplant? (LDLT)

    A living donor liver transplant is one where a living donor donates part of the healthy liver to the recipient. The liver is a remarkable organ which is capable of regenerating itself to 100% functionality within 4 – 6 weeks despite the removal of up to 70% of its mass.

    infographic showing stages of living donor liver transplant journey

    How do You Recover from a Liver Transplant?

    After a successful transplant, recipients will need to take anti-rejection medication, which suppress the immune system to prevent the body from rejecting the new organ. Find out more about the recovery process for liver transplant recipients.

    Where can I get a Liver Transplant?

    The liver transplant programme in Gleneagles Hospital is headed by Dr Tan Kai Chah and the Asian-American Liver Centre. Dr Tan performed the first living donor liver transplant in Singapore in 1996, and he is one of the leading experts of liver transplant in the region. He and his team has performed more than 200 liver transplant procedures.

    Patients should take note that the living donor liver transplant programme in all Singapore hospitals is subject to approval by the Transplant Ethics Committee, as required by the Human Organ Transplant Act, in order to safeguard against human organ commerce.

    Gleneagles Hospital is also home to the Parkway Asian Transplant Unit, a dedicated transplant ward for transplant patients, with a team of nurses who are specifically trained to care for liver transplant patients and help them to a full recovery. Find out more about the Gleneagles Hospital transplant ward and its team of nurses.

  • What is Living Donor Liver Transplantation?

    Benefits of a Living Donor Liver Transplant (LDLT)

    The current waiting period for a cadaveric donor liver is often too long to benefit patients with these rapidly progressive diseases. Without an LDLT, it is highly unlikely that these patients will receive a transplantation before they develop fatal complications.

    Besides being an alternative source of donor livers, the other advantage of LDLT over cadaveric liver transplantation is that it allows scheduling of the procedure. As such, the patient with decompensated liver function can be optimised prior to the transplant surgery. In addition, the quality of the liver graft is better as it is retrieved from a healthy donor and the cold ischaemic time (the time the donated liver has no blood supply) is much shorter. The biggest disadvantage of LDLT is the potential for complications or even death of a healthy donor. There are limitations with LDLT, the foremost is finding a suitable compatible donor, who has the same blood group and is fit to undergo the surgery. The donor can be the next of kin, a relative or even a close friend.

    Living Donor Liver Transplant at the Asian American Liver Cancer (AALC)

    At AALC, LDLT for adults and children is performed by an experienced team of specialist doctors. For patients who have suitable donors, extremely stringent investigations for the donor and recipient are carried out to ensure the safety of both the donor and the optimal graft for the recipient.

    Since performing its first living donor liver transplantation (LDLT) in 2002, AALC has successfully performed more than 230 LDLTs to-date with consistently good clinical outcomes – the first private medical centre in Asia to achieve this milestone. Today, it is one of Southeast Asia’s largest private liver centres, with a direct link to one of the world’s most recognised transplantation programmes through the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center.

    Since the 1990s, LDLT is an accepted curative treatment modality for hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC). The Asian American Liver Centre has expanded the indication criteria of LDLT for HCC due to the substantial number of patients beyond the *Milan criteria (small or few tumours) with long term survival after LDLT.

    *Milan criteria – 1 tumour <5cm or up to 3 tumours <3cm (NEJM 1996; 334)

    **Beyond Milan criteria for AALC are:
    NO extra hepatic disease
    NO limitation number or size.

    Results

    Among all patients transplanted since 2002 at AALC, there were 69% male and 31% female recipients. Survival outcomes for living donor liver transplantations in patients between 2008 – 2012 for 1 year, 3 years and 5 years were 88%, 75% and 69% respectively. Patients transplanted for acute liver failure and malignancy were included in this analysis.

    LDLT survival outcomes

    Outcomes for Hepatocellular Carcinoma (HCC) Recipients

    At least 98 LDLTs were performed for patients with HCC. Survival outcomes were compared for patients transplanted for HCC within and beyond the Milan criteria. Overall survival rates for HCC patients for 1 year, 3 years and 4 years were 86%, 72% and 64% respectively. For Milan criteria patients, the rates were 89%, 82% and 82% respectively.

    AALC’s highly successful LDLT Programme is complemented by the Parkway Asian Transplant Unit (PATU) – a dedicated ward with Intensive Care Unit (ICU) facilities and state-of-the-art medical equipment including liver dialysis machines and monitoring devices. This ensures that every patient receives the best treatment for their specific liver condition.

    Liver Transplant Survival Rate|Liver, Pancreas, Gall Bladder and Bile Duct

    You can learn more about liver transplant at the Asian American Liver Centre.

    Make an Enquiry or Appointment

    Find a Doctor