We create new possibilities for life 2015年“新加坡卓越服务奖”获奖者

心胸外科手术

  • 手术简介

    新加坡鹰阁,无刀白内障手术

    过去数十年间,心脏外科手术的传统做法一直是采用胸骨切开术(在胸部切出一条较大的开口,然后将胸骨展开)来打开胸腔。这种大面积的开口除了会留下一道又长又难看的伤疤以外,最主要的弊端在于较大的疼痛和生理创伤,而且患者术后需要住院较长时间才能重返正常生活。

    随着人们对于心脏手术理解的不断加深和医疗技术的日臻成熟,如今的心脏外科手术讲求在保证手术安全与疗效的同时尽量减轻患者的创伤和痛苦。

    目前,微创心脏手术(MICS)在世界上的许多地区都已得到了长足发展和普遍认可。事实上,大多数高等医疗中心(例如美国克利夫兰诊所)的多数心脏手术均已采用 MICS 技术。MICS 有一套严格的实施标准,切口长度必须小于 4 英寸。

    到目前为止,MICS 已被广泛应用于冠状动脉搭桥手术(CABG)和心脏瓣膜手术。

    在微创冠状动脉搭桥术(MIDCAB)中,左侧乳内动脉(LIMA)能够长期保持最佳通畅率,无疑是最为合适的渠道,可以通过三种不同方式获取:

    • 小范围的前胸廓切开术,切口长度在 6-8 厘米之间
    • 电视辅助胸腔镜手术(VATS)
    • 机器人辅助手术

    这些方式各有自己的优缺点。而由于此类操作具有一定的学习曲线,所以外科医生必须要对它们非常熟练才行。

    获取 LIMA 之后,就需要将该动脉与最为关键的左前降支进行接合,这样才能保证患者能够收到最好的长期疗效。得益于非体外循环技术和心脏人为干预的最小化,患者在手术过程中的血液动力指标更加稳定,出血量也大大降低。

    如今,MICS 也广泛应用于独立的心脏瓣膜手术之中,尤其是二尖瓣修复/置换手术、三尖瓣修复/置换手术和主动脉瓣置换手术。绝大多数情况下,这都是在切开6-8 厘米的开口后,通过部分胸骨切开术进行。在二尖瓣和三尖瓣手术中,此操作也可通过小范围的右前胸廓切开术或机器人辅助手术来实现。

    一位训练有素的心脏外科医生通过此类微创手术完全可以在保证手术安全和预期效果的同时将患者的生理和心理创伤控制在最小程度。通常情况下,患者接受完 MICS 手术后的 3-4 天即可出院,2-4 周内即可恢复大部分的日常活动。

    这种先进的 MICS 技术仍在不断地更新和发展,目前已成功应用于诸多其他心脏手术之中,这其中包括房间隔缺损封堵术、三尖瓣修复手术、DOR 手术(慢性心脏衰竭手术)、左心室血栓清除手术、心律失常手术和室间隔破裂手术。

    混合疗法

    对于如今的医药学水平而言,如果某名患者的心脏疾病较为复杂,则可能很难为其找到一种十全十美的医疗方案。如果一个病人患有局部缺血性心脏病,那么很可能他的某部分冠状动脉适合采用血管成形术与支架置入术,而另一部分冠状动脉(尤其是左前降支)却更适合采用冠状动脉旁路移植术和左侧乳内动脉接合术。在采用传统疗法医治一名同时患有心脏瓣膜病和冠状动脉疾病的患者时,医生肯定会通过完整的胸骨切开术同时解决瓣膜和冠状动脉狭窄的问题。

    然而,随着 MICS 的发展和心脏内外科医生之间合作度的加强,混合疗法为心脏病患者的治疗策略提供了一种新的思路,能够最大程度地照顾到患者利益。

    对于患有多重冠状动脉疾病的患者而言,LIMA - LAD 接合术无疑是一种能够确保长期通畅和较高生存率的最佳方式。许多外科医生都会采取全动脉冠状动脉搭桥的方式,而它的临床效果也确实不错。然而,在现实生活中,只有不到 20 % 的病例属于这类情况。

    另一方面,尽管支架式外部控制器接口是所有血管重建介入疗法中对人体伤害最小的一种并且冠状动脉支架技术也已取得巨大发展,但是其疗效仍然无法与 LIMA - LAD 相比,后者能够保证通畅率连续 20 年维持在 90 %以上的水平。

  • 基于以上背景和实际情况,心脏内外科医生越来越倾向于共同合作,这样便可同时发挥两个领域的优势,一同为患者谋福利。

    若是采用混合疗法,多重冠状动脉疾病的患者可以通过同一个入口首先接受外部控制器接口和支架置入术,然后再进行一个小范围的前胸廓切开术和 LIMA - LAD(MIDCAB)。这样一来,患者不光能够获得最关键冠状动脉(LIMA - LAD)的最佳渠道,而且也避免了进行完整的胸骨切开术。重要性相对较小的其他两根血管则可通过外部控制器接口和支架置入术来增加血液供应。需要明确的是,目前支架技术的疗效不会差于 CABG 中通过大隐静脉和桡动脉展开手术的方式。

    一般而言,这部分患者的手术创伤最小,而且能借助两种医学领域的优势获得最佳疗效。患者通常可在术后 3 天之内出院,2-4 周之内重新恢复正常工作。

    另外,心脏瓣膜疾病和非 LAD 冠状动脉疾病的患者也经常使用混合疗法。同样的,这类患者在传统疗法下也是需要通过完整的胸骨切开术才能进行心脏瓣膜修复/置换手术,而且一般还需要在狭窄的非 LAD 冠状动脉实施大隐静脉桥手术。相关记录显示,静脉移植后的通畅率在 10 年内不足 50 %。这一效果远远比不上外部控制器接口和支架置入术。很显然,完整胸骨切开术的疗效欠佳,并不可行。

    相对于只是单纯接受外科医生或心脏内科医生的治疗来讲,如果患者能够同时接受针对冠状动脉疾病的外部控制器接口术、部分胸骨切开术和瓣膜修复/置换手术的话,其疗效必定会更好。这样不但可以缩短手术时间,而且缩短了体外循环时间,这点最为重要;很多医疗记录都显示过长的手术时间会对人体带来伤害。所有这些努力必定能够减轻患者生理和心理上的创伤和痛苦,让他们尽快康复,同时也让伤口愈合得更加美观。

    每名患者都应当单独接受评估和问询,这样才能针对每个人的具体病情实施最合适的治疗方案。

    在我们由内科医生、护士和治疗师组成的多科系医疗团队的强大支持下,鹰阁医院现有的高水准心脏内外科医生团队必将为您提供专业的健康指导和医护服务,为您从手术实施到康复和独立生活的整个流程保驾护航。请您放心,我们一定会尽全力为患者带来最佳疗效。

  • 协助您获得快速、准确且有效的治疗是我们的动力。在鹰阁医院,满足您的需求是我们专家技术团队和员工的核心任务。现在就踏出迈向健康未来的第一步,体验本院 50 多年来所提供的高品质的定制化医疗保健服务。

    询问详情

We create new possibilities for life

WhatsApp Appointment

+65 8111 9777

Minimally Invasive Cardiac Surgery

  • Understanding the Procedure

    Gleneagles Singapore, Bladeless Cataract Surgery

    Traditionally, over the past few decades, heart surgeries were performed through sternotomy (a large cut on the chest and splitting of the breast bone) to gain access to the heart. Not only does the large incision result in a long, unsightly scar, but it causes more pain, more physiological trauma, a longer hospital stay and a longer recovery period.

    As understanding of heart surgery and technology improve over time, surgical techniques have been improvised to reduce the pain and suffering for the patients while maintaining the safety and effectiveness of the surgery.

    Minimally invasive cardiac surgery (MICS) is well developed and recognised now in most parts of the world. Following strict criteria, the length of the cut for MICS is defined as less than 4 inches.

    To date, MICS has been used for coronary artery bypass surgery (CABG) and cardiac valvular surgery.

    For minimally invasive direct coronary artery bypass surgery (MIDCAB), the left internal mammary artery (LIMA), which is the best path and offers the best long-term patency, can be harvested via 3 different ways:

    • A small anterior thoracotomy of 6 – 8cm in length
    • Video-assisted thoracoscopy (VATS)
    • Robotic-assisted

    Each of these approaches has its own pros and cons. There is a certain learning curve and hence it is important for the surgeon to be well versed in such approaches.

    Following the harvest of LIMA, the artery will then be connected to the most critical left anterior descending artery to offer patients the best long-term outcome. During the operation, because of the off-pump technique and the least handling of the heart, the patient has more stable blood flow and the amount of bleeding is also reduced.

    MICS is also being widely used for isolated cardiac valvular surgery, especially mitral valve repair / replacement, tricuspid valve repair / replacement and aortic valve replacement. Most commonly, this is done through a 6 – 8cm cut in the sternum. For mitral and tricuspid valve surgery, it can also be approached via a small cut through the chest or via robotic-assisted surgery.

    In the hands of a trained heart surgeon, these minimally invasive approaches will offer patients the least physical and psychological trauma while preserving the aim of the surgery in utmost safety. Typically, after MICS, the patient can be discharged from the hospital in 3 – 4 days' time and resume most of their usual activities within 2 – 4 weeks.

    This state-of-the-art development of MICS has continued to evolve and has also been successfully applied in other heart surgeries, including atrial septal defect closure, tricuspid valves repair, DOR procedure (chronic heart failure operation), and removal of left ventricular blood clot, arrhythmia surgery and ventricular septal rupture.

    Hybrid Approach

    In the current era of medicine, it may be difficult to offer perfect treatment options for a patient with complex heart disease. In a patient with ischaemic heart disease, some coronary arteries may be more suitably dealt with by angioplasty and stenting, while some coronary artery, especially the left anterior descending artery, may be better off with a CABG and LIMA connected to it. In a patient with cardiac valvular disease coupled with coronary artery disease, this patient will undergo a full sternotomy using standard methods to fix both the valve and coronary artery stenosis.

    However, with the development of MICS and increasing team work between cardiologists and cardiac surgeons, the hybrid approach to a patient with cardiac conditions can now offer a new view in treatment planning and work towards the best interest of patients.

    In a patient with multiple coronary artery diseases, LIMA – LAD anastomosis offers the best long-term patency and patient survival. Total artery coronary artery bypass often appears attractive in terms of clinical outcomes. However, in real life, this happens only in less than 20% of the cases.

    On the other hand, although percutaneous coronary intervention (PCI) with stents is least invasive among all revascularisation interventions, and the technology of coronary stents has evolved dramatically, its outcome still cannot match LIMA – LAD, which offers a 20-years patency rate of more than 90%.

  • It has become more acceptable for cardiologists and heart surgeons to work together to offer patients the best benefits from both worlds.

    With the hybrid approach, a patient with multiple coronary artery disease can then undergo a small thoracotomy and LIMA – LAD (MIDCAB) followed by PCI and stenting to the other 2 vessels within the same admission. The patient will then benefit from the best path to the most critical coronary artery (LIMA – LAD) and avoid a large cut along the sternum. The other 2 less critical vessels can then be revascularised with PCI and stenting. It is important to remember that the current stent technology gives equal or even better results than the long saphenous veins and radial artery methods that were used in CABG.

    Typically, this group of patients will suffer the least trauma from surgery and obtain the best outcome from both specialties. Usually, the patients will be discharged within 3 days of hospital stay and resume work within 2 – 4 weeks.

    Another common scenario where the hybrid approach is being adopted is in patients with heart valve disease and non-LAD coronary artery disease. Again, these patients will traditionally need a full sternotomy (a large cut along the sternum) to allow heart valve repair/replacement and most likely a saphenous vein graft to the stenosed non-LAD coronary artery. In the literature, the venous graft has been shown to remain less than 50% open in 10 years. This result is far inferior when compared to the outcome of PCI and stenting. It is becoming obvious that a full sternotomy to achieve a poor result is not plausible.

    Instead of the patient being managed alone either by surgeons or cardiologists, the patient will be much better off undergoing a hybrid procedure of partial sternotomy (a smaller cut along the sternum), valve repair/replacement followed by PCI to the coronary artery disease. This not only shortens the surgery time, but shortens the cardiopulmonary bypass time, which has been well documented to cause harm the longer it is in effect. All these combined efforts cause less physical and psychological trauma, less pain, much faster recovery and a much better aesthetic outcome.

    Every patient should be assessed and counselled individually to have the most suitable treatment for their cardiac condition.

    Gleneagles Hospital's established team of highly specialised cardiac surgeons and doctors, supported by a strong multi-disciplinary team of medical specialists, nurses and therapists, will guide patients with professionalism and care through the entire process from surgery to recovery and back to independence.

  • We understand that you value efficient and effective treatment above all else, and that is what we provide at Gleneagles Hospital. Our highly-accomplished team of specialists and staff will make it a priority to place your needs first in formulating a course of treatment.

    Make an Enquiry